Our Books

Our books are leveled and sequenced from Pre-K to 2nd Grade.

View Books
The covers and summaries of our books for you to browse.
Sample Books
Download and read sample books.
Guides with Lesson Plans & Story Game Cards
Learn more about our guides and game cards.
Meet the Book Characters
Get to know the residents of Park Street.
Ooka Island Leveling Chart
Instructional reading levels and the appropriate correlation to other program leveling systems.
Determining a Child's Reading Level
To discover which level of our emergent readers your child should begin reading.
Book Methodology
Learn about the methodology that makes our books effective.
Motivational Tools
Download our printable “Book Path”, reward certificate, and reward book.
  • Emergent Level

    Emergent Level of Ooka Island Books is comprised of three levels of thirty five books. The books are carefully designed to promote maximum use of a child’s spoken language so the child can easily understand that reading is simply conversation in print.

    These books provide the reader with strong picture support and familiar everyday experiences.

    More Details and Purchase
  • Beginning Level

    Beginning Level of Ooka Island Books is comprised of four levels of forty books (ten books per level) with increasingly more lines of print per page compared to the Emergent Level books.

    These books provide the reader with familiar experiences but have more depth. There is greater variation in sentence pattern and less reliance on pictures as the child moves through the four levels.

    More Details and Purchase
  • Fluency Level

    Fluency Level of Ooka Island Books is comprised of four levels - each level contains five titles that include fairy tales and poems, as well as the introduction of chapter books.

    The wide range of genres includes more descriptive text, varied topics, complex sentences, and higher level vocabulary in each book.

    More Details and Purchase